May 2, 2010

The Magic of Magazines

Posted in Media at 5:13 pm by R

Have you seen this ad?

The text reads:

We surf the Internet. We swim in magazines.

The Internet is exhilarating. Magazines are enveloping. The Internet grabs you. Magazines embrace you. The Internet is impulsive. Magazines are immersive. And both media are growing.

Barely noticed amidst the thunderous Internet clamor i s the simple fact that magazine readership has risen over the past five years. Even in the age of the Internet, even among the groups one would assume are most singularly hooked on digital media, the appeal of magazines is growing.

Think of it this way: during the 12-year life of Google, magazine readership actually increased 11 percent.

What it proves, once again, is that a new medium doesn’t necessarily displace and existing one. Just as movies didn’t kill radio. Just as TV didn’t kill movies. An established medium can continue to flourish so long as it continues to offer a unique experience. And, as reader loyalty and growth demonstrate, magazines do.

Which is why people aren’t giving up swimming, just because they also enjoy surfing.

I LOVE this campaign! LOVE! LOVE! LOVE! For a few months I’ve been opening up my magazines and reading this ad with a big smile on my face!

For a couple of years this blog has covered the contracting print industry. And what I have never said is how terribly afraid I was that my beloved magazines would eventually fade away into Internet oblivion.

I love this ad because it’s true. Though I get my headlines from Tweets and e-newsletters, nothing makes me so happy (or my mailman so sad) as MAGAZINE DAY! I can’t wait to dig in and flip through the pages. It’s the smell, the colors, the info! I love swimming in all of it.

Magazines are, as the ad states, a unique experience. The blend of consumable, useful tidbits, paired with rich content in a format that feels comfortable, like a friend.

Just to exemplify how dedicated I am to the magazine experience, let me introduce you to some of my (and my equally devoted husband’s) magazine friends — and by friends I mean subscriptions:

(Note that all these great publications have fantastic websites as well.)

Not only do my husband and I love to read magazines and feel that we are enriched by their presence in our home, but we LOVE to give great magazines as gifts. Honestly, it’s the gift that keeps on giving every month. When a dear friend got engaged, I immediately celebrated her pending nuptials with a subscription to Martha Stewart Weddings. Christmas gifts — easy breezy. Hard-to-buy-for types are easily remedied with a subscription to a magazine related to a personal interest. While Apple iPhone owners chime “There’s an app for that,” when it comes to the holidays I gleefully say “There’s a magazine for that!”

The Internet might give us unlimited monthly access to unlimited amounts of information, but magazines give us the value of a unique, reliable and regular experience.

Might I add, as my hubby and I contemplate doing some remodeling to our home, I’m quickly discovering a whole new world of magazines to swim in as I immerse myself in flooring selections, finishes, faucets, paint ideas and more!

Magazines, in short, are magic.

~R

1 Comment »

  1. sam alpert said,

    I agree – this ad kicks ass. I stop and read it every time I see it. I have to say that I am surprised the readership has gone up by 11 percent, but it makes me happy if that stat is true.

    Sam


Leave a Reply

