July 8, 2009

I’m a bad blogger

Posted in Uncategorized at 11:14 am by SD

I’m fascinated by social media. I read about it, read more about it, talk about it and think about it but when it comes to actually engaging in social media on my own time (not the time spent working on it for my clients), I have a tough time. Actually, the problem is more lack of time. I spend so much time learning about it that I don’t do it. And, the best way to really learn it is to do it.

As I’ve shared this challenge with others, I’ve found that this is a struggle that many people face. It’s especially true for those of us that have to be knowledgeable about social media and use it at work on a daily. We’re so busy keeping up with it for our jobs that it’s difficult to do it on our own time. To help myself spend more time engaging with social media and hopefully others like me, I created this list of tips:

1. Set aside time each day for social media: It can be 10 minutes or 2 hours but spend it using social media not just reading or talking about it. Update your Facebook profile, Tweet, write a blog post, share a video, etc. It doesn’t matter what you do, just do it.

2. Don’t try to be a rockstar with every social media tool: Take a cue from the Google philosophy to do one thing really, really well. Pick your favorite social media tools and spend your time there sharing meaningful information and building relationships.

3. Set a goal: Like everything else in life, it helps to have something to work towards so vow to blog twice a week or build your list of Tweeps to 1,000 in the next 30 days. Once you set your goal, get moving because you’ve got work to do.

In the spirit of taking my own advice, I’m going to publicly commit to blogging here twice a week. Hopefully, while accomplishing my goal, I’ll be able to provide some valuable insight along the way. Either way, thanks for helping me become a better social media doer.

~S

Leave a Reply

