August 14, 2008

My Athenas

Posted in Personally... at 8:08 pm by R

I didn’t take the opportunity in my previous post to state something rather important — people who are Athenas to me.

First, who the heck is Athena?

Athena is a Greek goddess, the third daughter of Zeus. She represents strategic warfare and heroic endeavor. Often Athena is represented with a helmet, breastplate and an owl – for wisdom of course.

Now, for me, the people who are Athena’s in my life aren’t necessarily war strategists, but they are heroes. Maybe I should count them down.

3. My Contributors – Shannon, Nicole and Allison. These gals make me want to be better at what I do everyday. They do the coolest things and are straight up masters at their craft, in addition to the fact that they are really wonderful friends.

2. Ashley Marie Oleson – No, no. Not the twin. She’s my best friend since the age of three. She’s the Port Authority of Erie event planner and is a really remarkable marketer and always an inspiration. Homegirl ran 13.1 miles by my side last year during the San Francisco Nike Women’s marathon. She’s got so much strength and endurance that goes beyond hitting the pavement. Those qualities are in her character and her heart and I just adore the hell out of her.

1. Mom – Arguably the most dedicated Cut Me Some Flack reader, the college English professor regularly sends me grammar corrections (I write in AP Style momma! 🙂  ) and her thoughts on topics I’ve covered — in my blog, in emails, phone calls, etc. She’s a Vietnam Era Veteran,  a great professor who loves her students and the books & words she forces them to read, an animal rights activist, a good wife, a good mom, a compassionate leader, a total Athena.

~Robyn

2 Comments »

  1. N. J. Stewart-Smith said,

    I am in very special company indeed! Thank you, Love, Momma

  2. N. J. Stewart-Smith said,

    “compassionate leader” Sweetie, that says it ALL!


Leave a Reply

