August 12, 2008

I can be your HARO baby!

Posted in A walk on the "dark side", Industry Standards tagged at 8:38 am by R

If you haven’t been utilizing Help A Reporter Out (HARO), you’re behind the curve.

This service is the brainchild of PR guru Peter Shankman. HARO is a networking group that puts PR practitioners and journalists together to serve each other.

Here’s how it works:

There are two pages you can sign up on:

  1. I am a source (PR practitioners)
  2. I need a source (journalists)

Once you’ve signed up you get three emails a day with a list of queries that reporters need help with.

If you’re a journalist, you can submit queries as they arise and assign deadlines, locations, details and descriptions to ensure that you get the kind of quality responses to help fill in the story.

Really, HARO operates on the trust system. Peter trusts his fellow PR peeps to pitch well and be good resources to make it worthwhile for the media to keep signing up and submitting queries. And it seems to be working because there are generally about 20 queries per email…that’s a lot  of requests for sources!

Since I’ve been using HARO, I’ve had a few opportunities come up that worked out nicely and I might never have found them other wise. Also, I’ve enjoyed connecting my reporter pals into this resource as well. Everyone I’ve referred really seems to be pleased with the new tool that helps them get the job done.

Peter goes above and beyond with his thrice daily emails by adding little notes at the top talking about what he’s up to. Maybe it’s just me and my sense of humor, but I think Peter is a dang crack up! I look forward to his quips almost as much as I look forward to seeing what opportunities will be there when I scroll down.

Peter Shankman if you’re reading this, let me know when you go on a stand up comedy tour, I want to buy tickets.

Bottom Line: It’s free. It’s a great way to make connections. And hey, you can be somebody’s HARO!

~Robyn

4 Comments »

  1. jenine said,

    Great post Robyn.

    I’m a huge fan of the work Peter Shankman is doing on HARO and look for his emails throughout the day. The HARO project seems to be generating a lot of buzz in the industry for changing how we work with journalists. The fact is as PR professionals, a large part of our job is “customer service” whether that customer is our company, clients, community relationships or media. Our asset is the depth that we can bring to a story – through spokespeople, new angles, research insights, etc. Instead of harking goods the traveling salesman way, we need to cultivating mutually beneficial relationships.

    I love that there’s a new perspective on we can do this. And the comedy stylings of Shankman doesn’t heard either. 😉

  2. Aw!! Thanks, guys! Come to NYC and I’ll buy you all drinks. 🙂

  3. jenine said,

    I may just take you up on that!

  4. Robyn said,

    I hear NYC is beautiful in the fall. This Arizona gal could use some changing leaves in her life! 🙂


Leave a Reply

