July 10, 2008

PR Flight or Fight Response

Posted in Personally..., Projects, Uncategorized at 7:35 pm by R

I mulled over my day, the press conference and all that went into it. It was about 4:45 and as I analyzed my interactions, all the details, what sound bites I thought the TV stations would play…then I realized I hadn’t gone to the bathroom all day!

Too much info, I know. But the fact that I had ignored my bladder since 7:00 a.m., gave me pause. Am I suffering from PR flight or fight response? Oh yes.

Flight or fight is generally defined as the body’s physiological reaction to extreme stress, which, in part, shuts down the hunger, digestion, elimination responses.

Of the PR people I know, this PR version of Flight or Fight isn’t a rare phenomenon. When we are in urgent media situations like press conferences, live shot scenarios, high-pressure deadlines, the flight or fight symptoms start to kick in. Suddenly, hunger and other, uhhhh, bodily functions seem to disappear until the deadline dissipates or the event ends.

Did I mention that the only thing I ate between the hours of 6:00 a.m. and 2 p.m. was a (dangerously delicious) Fairytale Brownie? The food thing got away from me too. And I made a baaaad choice, but it was oh, so good!

My advice is this:

  • Schedule in a bathroom break (no, I’m not kidding)
  • Eat breakfast no matter what the day’s schedule is
  • HYDRATE!
  • Carry some kind of meal replacement bar

You have to be running properly and be well-fueled to ensure that your event, media or otherwise, is running properly.

Don’t let PR Flight or Fight get the best of you, manage your needs the way you’d manage everything else in a PR event of any kind — with consideration for what’s best and fastidious attention to detail.

~Robyn

1 Comment »

  1. Meghann Will said,

    Um, when you ate your Fairytale Brownie, did the song “miracles happen” replay over and over until each morsel was gone?

    Or is that just me?


Leave a Reply

