June 26, 2008

A Good Story

Posted in Uncategorized at 7:59 am by SD

I love a good story. In fact, I could listen to stories all day long. But, you know what is even better than listening to a story – telling a good story. Thus, the reason I am in the business of PR. I help tell my clients stories on a daily basis so before I start spouting off my thoughts here on this blog, let me share my story.

I’m a twenty something PR “pro” (I use the term loosely) working for an integrated  PR/Advertising/Branding/Marketing agency in Denver. I’m lucky to work with a team of talented and smart individuals and I have truly interesting clients with great stories to tell. I focus heavily on community relations, media relations and expert positioning with a little public affairs and event planning sprinkled in there. All in all, I would say I have a pretty good gig going for me.

If you had asked me when I was 10 what I wanted to be when I grew up, I definitely would not have said PR. Honestly, I had no idea what PR was until I showed up to my Intro to PR class my sophomore year of college and from then on it was love at first sight. Well, maybe not love, but it was a good fit for me!  A million press releases, PR plans, public speaking classes, several internships and a move from the Northwest to Denver later, I was in my first full-time PR gig for a small firm here in Denver. I spent a few years during consumer electronics PR and public affairs and then I landed at my current position. Now I focus on PR in the energy and professional services sectors.

My limited free time (PR is so not a 9-5) is spent enjoying the 300+ days of Colorado sunshine with my husband and dog, running, trying new restaurants, scoping out the latest fashions, cooking, catching up with friends or traveling. You’ll often find me with my nose in a book, the newspaper, a magazine or anything else I can get my hands on. I’m an active member of the Junior League and PRSA.

Whew. . . there you have it, my abbreviated story.

Leave a Reply

