June 16, 2008

Introducing…Robyn Itule

Posted in Personally... tagged at 11:58 pm by R

Me.

Like my esteemed colleagues Shannon Danitz & Nicole Williams, I too am a 2005 graduate of Gonzaga University. I have a degree in communications with minors in journalism and political science.

To keep me out of trouble from 9-5, I work as a Senior Account Executive with Armstrong Troyky Public Relations & Advertising in Phoenix, Ariz. I helped to launch this agency along side partners Amy Armstrong (PR Maven) and Matt Troyky (Creative Guru) in 2006.

We specialize in doing good work for good people. Seriously, the character of our clients and the integrity of the work they do is important to us. So we really work hard to partner with clients whose values align with our own.

I do a lot of media relations work. It’s so much fun. Especially the broadcast piece. I’ve gotten to do some really fun things. Live weather segments from automotive factories, FOX TV (the network in NYC, not our local affiliate) interviews and special production segments.

Before settling on PR, I was determined to be a broadcast journalist with an emphasis in politics. But, I’m a creature of habit and climbing up the ladder of TV and the moving around it might require just wasn’t for me. I continue to admire those who have made it their life’s work to report the news and I do my best to make them look good.

I’m always interested in how to incorporate social media and guerrilla marketing into my clients’ strategic campaigns. I’m curious about the best ways to demonstrate return on investment to clients when you are dealing with such intangible, but valuable things like perception.

In the off hours I’m likely at the gym. I teach GroupX classes at 24 Hour Fitness. Let me tell ya, it’s a kick in the pants. I love teaching. I’m still new to the “sport,” but it’s a lot of fun to help others get a great work out. I think it’s something about the group atmosphere and the music.

And when I’m not at the gym, I’m generally with my hubby. Billy and I have been married for almost two years. My husband is also a kick in the pants. He’s one of the funniest, smartest and sweetest people I know. Although he specializes in fruits and veggies to make a living and support my shopping habit, Billy studied journalism and remains a news junkie, so we always have plenty to talk about on the public relations/journalism front. In fact, some of my best ideas have come from him.

And that’s me. PR practitioner, Jane Fonda wannabe, wife & friend.

1 Comment »

  1. […] industry developments, pop culture and the life of a young PR professional from where they sit in Phoenix, Denver and […]


Leave a Reply

